New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Things change, 2003-12-14, 9:00 p.m.


Well, my grandparents are visiting my uncle. This uncle is in ICU because he fell backwards down 15 stairs (which is made worse by the fact that his health is totally crap anyway in pretty much every way health can be crap).

My uncle is non responsive in that he is nodding to everything whether it happened or he agrees or not.

My grandmother is bedridden with pneumonia and for a day couldn't take her insulin or eat.

My grandfather had what my uncle the doctor thinks was a large heart attack but one that was caught in time to get a needle preventing massive damage. He's in hospital, disoriented and they're unsure if he'll be allowed to go back to his home or if he'll have to stay up there.

Needless to say, Dad is feeling quite stressed and the rest of us are concerned about him and about everyone.

It's amazing how everything can change in a few days.

I needed to have this song on in the car on the way home. I don't know why.

Fred Jones Pt 2 - Ben Folds

Fred sits alone
at his desk in the dark
there's an awkward
young shadow that waits in the hall

he has cleared all his things
and he's put them in boxes
things that remind him
that life has been good

twenty-five years
he's worked at the paper
a man's here
to take him downstairs
and "I'm sorry,
Mr. Jones, it's time"

there was no party
and there were no songs
'cause today's just a day
like the day that he started

and no one is left here
that knows his first name
yeah, and life barrels on
like a runaway train

where the passengers change
they don't change anything
you get off
someone else can get on
and "I'm sorry,
Mr. Jones, it's time"

the streetlight
it shines through the shades
casting lines on the floor
and lines on his face
he reflects on the day

Fred gets his paints out
and goes to the basement
projecting some slides
onto a plain white canvas

and traces it,
fills in the spaces
he turns off the slides
and it doesn't look right

yeah, and all of these bastards
have taken his place
he's forgotten, but not yet gone
and "I'm sorry, Mr. Jones"
and "I'm sorry, Mr. Jones"
and "I'm sorry, Mr. Jones, it's time"


(5 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *