New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Home again today!, 2003-02-11, 6:41 a.m.


Waiting... waiting... waiting. Something about a blizzard warning in the morning that makes my early morning an exercise in patience.

According to the board site, we're closed! I just have to hear it on the radio. I'm never sure why I have to hear it - it just happens that way. And there it is. All schools are closed for the day. Apparently we have another system coming thursday. That's neat.

This means I have time to write my paper today - and most likely won't have class tonight. I was going to send the pictures and everything I need to finish the powerpoint but my computer kept freezing up. So I'll do that tomorrow. It's for thursday so that'll be ok.

I have to write a paper today on racism. Racism and the classroom specifically. As, you see, the classroom is the place that forms society, as society forms the classroom to continue their traditions. That's why if you ever want to make a change, volunteer at a school. Anyway, I'm going to talk about our white curriculum, the racism I experienced within my own family which was representitive of the province and the use of the 'N' word in music and a discussion of that is a reclaiming or a rebelling. Is it akin to the use of the word 'queer' and the reclaiming in that manner, or is it more like the voicings of Howard Stern and others who are returning to traditional sex roles and rebelling against political correctness and expectations.

So that's my paper. It's hard to write as my racism was different than most - I didn't know it was racism. For most, it's more blatent. So that's part of my paper. I'm not as familiar with race issues, so this will be different. But I can do it. And most likely, we won't have class tonight. So that's two nights home in a row. Yayness.

The city seems to be shutting down. I wonder if D.s work will close. Must go check that out....


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *