New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Iris, 2002-11-15, 6:56 a.m.


I saw 'Iris' last night. It was amazing. D. didn't like it, but that's ok - it's not really his kind of movie. Vague spoilers follow.

Kate Winslet was great and Judi Dench was amazing. Watching it, I was drawn into the fear of losing that which is most precious to you - your mind and ability for words.

Iris and her husband were so very well matched. She was strong, sharp and smart whilst he was strong, muddled and smart. They would not have been able to live together if he wasn't smart - I think she would have distained him far to much. He had to accept a lot from her - but so did she from him.

The scene where he wakes her up at night and yells at her seemed so right. So raw. So very true and honest of a story such as this.

I've told D. that I can break anything but my brain. Arms heal, legs rejoin - brains don't regenerate. While sometimes it would be nice to go to my own world, it's not who I am. It's not what I want to be. Of the things that terrify me, losing my mind is one. The need for words and for writing is so strong, losing it would be tragic and tremendously frustrating and worrying. Even if I didn't know I'd lost it.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *