New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

A long entry, 2001-11-09, 10:30 p,m.


Ok.... I am recovering from the two lenghty entries going missing fiasco. See... the first one happened when I closed a window to quickly. The second, where I talked about that and about what happened on wednesday, I accidently closed it. See... I was writing it and realized that I didn't save my marks. So I saved them and closed the program. It froze the computer. In making sure that the computer wasn't totally frozen, I clicked to an explorer screen - one of many - then reclicked the 'X' in the corner of a frozen. This caused not just my marks program to finally close, but, after the freeze, my explorer window closed. The explorer window that had my diary in it. Thus losing the second lenghty entry I had written in two days.

So, what has been happening to warrent these lenghty entries? Well, Wednesday I returned to me. Or how I was many years ago. Of a sort. D. had to work at the hotel (setting up a presentation for some bigwigs) so I went to the classic to correct. I ate gingerbread and drank coffee and was almost totally alone in the restaurant. The music was great, the atmosphere better. I felt wonderful. It's nice to do that sometimes. D. joined me after a while and it was great to sit and talk. And just be. It's been a while since we've done that.

Yesterday... well, yesterday was a bad day at work. Very stressful. Trying to get marks in as work goes on around me. Trying to fix other peoples problems and making more and more for me. Arg. Mark time is stressful. Especially when so many kids pass in things late and I don't have the heart to say bugger off. Or give them a zero. But I have to. Anyway, it was stressful. And horrid. And I didn't cry but I had to fix the computer problem of someone who was. It's frustrating.

However, I did have a good conversation with my eights yesterday. I talked to them about how they don't pay attention. They and I discussed how we can work on it. But one said something quite nice. He said, we are quiet in other classes, but they're like Charlie Browns teachers. We sit back and they're like 'WaWawawa'. With you, we listen and we discuss. Nice to hear. But it's still frustrating.

But D. is wonderful. D. took me out to supper. I had exactly what I wanted. You know how sometimes you want something but can't have it. Or sometimes what you have is just something to eat, not anything in particular. Well, that's not how it was in this case. It was exactly what I wanted. After having a crappy breakfast and lunch as well as a horrid day, having veggie buritos done BBQ style with mexican rice was amazing. And we had dessert. Well somewhat. We had dessert ordered. It was a chimie-cheesecake dessert - cheesecake wrapped in tortillas, lightly fried with a mixed berries dip (compote?). There were six fingers of it. D. ate one and I ate two. Each one was quite possibly more calories than my breakfast and lunch combined.

We then went shopping. D. bought me a Hermoine Doll and a 'Final Conflict' Harry Potter lego set. And glove/mittens - they're striped and the top of the mitten folds down to fingertipless gloves - good for shoveling snow. Or keeping warm :) We went to Toys 'R' Us as well and got Hagrids Hut and The Sorting Hat lego sets. They have a contest there where you could win a 12 inch Harry Potter made out of Lego. It's really cool. You just have to be under 14. And since, well, tommorrow I turn 25, I'm to old. I think that's age discrimination. Bah humbug.

Today was wonderful. I had the day off. I relaxed. I watched 'My Best Friends Wedding'. I watched 'Charlies Angels'. I watched 'The Matchmaker'. D. took me out for supper and then to 'Riding in Cars with Boys'. Wonderful movie. Wonderful celebration night. We picked up tickets for 'Harry Potter' for next saturday.

I have one of the best boyfriends ever. He makes me feel special all the time and like a princess on my birthday. He bought my shoes for convecation as a early birthday present, took me out to supper numerous times, bought me lego and to a movie. And to Harry Potter next week. He's great. I'm very lucky.

Sorry, didn't want to get to mushy. But I guess I did. Just... feeling special is hard sometimes. And I feel special now.

One hour and a half until I am 25. Wow. I wish I knew where all my books are. I'd do my yearly tradition - reading Atwood's 'Lady Oracle'. Maybe next year. Now... must sleep.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *