New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I'm me!, 2003-04-05, 10:33 a.m.


I came to a realization yesterday.

When I was in high school, I wanted to look a part. I picked clothing that I loved and wore out and stood out. They were very me. Yet, when I was nervous about things, I tried to dress a part. I would wear things because I thought the occasion demanded it. One incident would be when I was going downtown to a drama awards show. I wanted to look 'downtown'. I didn't.

Now that I work with teens, I see them doing the same. Trying to look a part. I wish I could tell them my realization and have them believe it.

If it is how you are, you are enough. You are enough. You are enough. If I wore what I wore to school to the awards show, I would have looked enough. For one, it was downtown looking. But past that, it was me looking. It was something I was comfortable and secure in. And that's enough.

I don't try to dress like a teacher. I am a teacher. How I dress is like a teacher. I don't try to dress a certain way that I'd like to be. How I am is how I am. Inwardly and outwardly I reflect that. Because how can I not.

The preceding rant has been brought to you by a lack of antihistimines and the sniffles. And the letter A. For me. :)


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *