New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

The events of November 10th and November 11th, 2001-11-11, 9:38 a.m.


Dammit!! I write an entry, get half way through and the power goes out. Damn and a half!

Basically, I started with 'Thank you'. Thank you for the birthday wishes. Going into my guestbook and seeing them made me happy. Yay! I really appreciate it.

Most of my birthday was fantastic. Totally fantastic. D. made me feel so special - movies, suppers, lego, Harry Potter - everything. But past that, the thoughts, the words, the hugs, the things that cost nothing. All of it made me feel wonderful and quite special.

Yesterday we went to the Price Club (Cosco). We were told by my parents that a large Harry Potter lego set was there. And the cost seemed to much for the train set. We met my siblings there, as we don't have a membership and my brother has my parents second one. The lego set was the one we'd hoped it was - the school. This is a set that is backordered on many sites until January/March 2001 (depending on site) and has not been in any of the stores we've gone to. And it was 40$ less than expected. At the checkout it was even less. My brother and sister were putting 20$ towards it.

Unfortunately for them we had to tell them that D. was buying it, not for me, but for him. There are sets I'm buying and sets he's buying - and this is one of his (I wanted 8 of the 11, he wanted 3. It works out). So they were left with no gift. When I said it was a lovely thought, they told me it was moms. Lovely. I gave them some suggestions (since they asked) for gifts they could get. I am easy to shop for - anything with some thought will thrill me.

After building lego for a while (me: The sorting hat, Diagon Alley, The final challange; D: part of the Hogwarts Express), we went out to supper with the parents and the siblings. Yummy place. I got my gifts from them. My parents had divided their gift between my siblings and themselves, as the siblings did not get anything yesterday afternoon. I think, as I said to Ollie, my parents think I'm a grown up now. D. knows I'm not... totally. Sometimes I'm 40, sometimes I'm 16. It all makes me 25 as I define it. Which is what age is to me. That's how it all seems. Does that make sense?

I sound very Harry Potter fixated and lego obsessed. And childish. I just enjoy relaxing. Harry Potter is interesting and relaxing. Lego is amazingly relaxing. Combine the two and it's great. And yes, I am 25. And I got toys for my birthday. But, I think that as I grow, I want to hold on to a part of me that I've fostered through the years. A part that I've kept as a reminder of who I am. This part can be childish. But it also allows me to relate to those younger than I. It allows me to question, not totally accepting that decisions made were for the best. It makes me me. I think D. understands that. And that's how this birthday was made so very special.

In other news, it's Rememberence Day. Please, whereever you are at 11, take a minute or two of silence. This year, especially, it's time to remember all of those who died needlessly in war - not just soldiers, but civilians. Those who gave their lives and those who had it taken from them. I'm going to quote the lyrics now of 'Willie McBride' a contemporary folk song. I had my english class sing that one, among others when we discussed the tragedy of war last year. It was sad. Please remember.

Well, how do you do, Private William McBride,
Do you mind if I sit down here by your graveside?
And rest for awhile in the warm summer sun,
I've been walking all day, and I'm nearly done.
And I see by your gravestone you were only 19
When you joined the glorious fallen in 1916,
Well, I hope you died quick and I hope you died clean
Or, Willie McBride, was it slow and obscene?

Did they Beat the drum slowly, did the play the pipes lowly?
Did the rifles fir o'er you as they lowered you down?
Did the bugles sound The Last Post in chorus?
Did the pipes play the Flowers of the Forest?

And did you leave a wife or a sweetheart behind
In some loyal heart is your memory enshrined?
And, though you died back in 1916,
To that loyal heart are you always 19?
Or are you a stranger without even a name,
Forever enshrined behind some glass pane,
In an old photograph, torn and tattered and stained,
And fading to yellow in a brown leather frame?

Did they Beat the drum slowly, did the play the pipes lowly?
Did the rifles fir o'er you as they lowered you down?
Did the bugles sound The Last Post in chorus?
Did the pipes play the Flowers of the Forest?

The sun's shining down on these green fields of France;
The warm wind blows gently, and the red poppies dance.
The trenches have vanished long under the plow;
No gas and no barbed wire, no guns firing now.
But here in this graveyard that's still No Man's Land
The countless white crosses in mute witness stand
To man's blind indifference to his fellow man.
And a whole generation who were butchered and damned.

Did they Beat the drum slowly, did the play the pipes lowly?
Did the rifles fir o'er you as they lowered you down?
Did the bugles sound The Last Post in chorus?
Did the pipes play the Flowers of the Forest?

And I can't help but wonder, no Willie McBride,
Do all those who lie here know why they died?
Did you really believe them when they told you "The Cause?"
Did you really believe that this war would end wars?
Well the suffering, the sorrow, the glory, the shame
The killing, the dying, it was all done in vain,
For Willie McBride, it all happened again,
And again, and again, and again, and again.

Did they Beat the drum slowly, did the play the pipes lowly?
Did the rifles fir o'er you as they lowered you down?
Did the bugles sound The Last Post in chorus?
Did the pipes play the Flowers of the Forest?


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *