New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

The past few days, 2002-07-01, 7:38 p.m.


I've been updating today like mad. Two thus far and now this one.

Some of this could be because my last update was a few days ago. But I do have an excuse. The last few days have been nuts.

Saturday I updated - so I'm not that far behind! Friday night had been a trip out to the parent�s house to see them off on a trip, so we were a little tired. We basically chilled all day. Besides that we picked up some groceries and watched some television. Quite nice if you ask me. I got a fantasmic backpack full of pockets and places to put gadgets. We also bought a wonderful salsa - White corn and Black Bean. Yum yum yummy.

Sunday I was planning to go to the parent�s house. Except as we were getting cleaned up the phone rang. D.'s mom. They were robbed. The jerks broke into their garage and took the new lawnmower and a few other things. Apparently they broke into 13 other garages around the neighbourhood. We helped move the tools into the house and enjoyed a barbeque with her. This was one of the worst times this could have happened. See, D.'s dad died almost a year ago. It'll be a year on the 14th. It's part of his past in the garage and something no one can afford to lose at this point. So it could have been worse. Much worse. However, that didn't mean that a sense of security wasn't lost. You think it won't happen to you or anyone you know. And then it does. I don't know how D.'s mom slept last night. I know I didn't.

Yesterday also marked a day when we realized how unsafe we are. We knew the tires were low on air. So we went to fill them up. Choosing the one that was the lowest, we started. Then we looked at it. Metal was sticking out. The steel bindings inside were fraying out of the tire. The tire we just put air into to make it tighter and thus more susceptible to blowing up. It is that bald. So before any big trips - from home to the city is fine but further and on dirt roads is out of the questions - we are getting new tires. We have an appointment for tomorrow at one. Which means that my coffee appointment with sugarbug has to be cancelled for another time. My fault again. Damn and damn. But at least the car won't flip over when the tire blows out and kill me. At least not when we get good tires again.

Today was pretty good. Yes, I didn't sleep last night, so I was tired. But I slept in a little. And then picked up d. and his girlfriend and met up with my brother. D., d., J., P. and I went to Red Cliff. It's a place D., d., and I have gone a bunch but haven't gone with others. And P. and J. haven't urban explored before. So it was great. D. had a hit clips recorder upon which he recorded the theme to 'Indiana Jones'. It was great. D. agrees I'm growing some eggs. (I refuse to say I'm growing balls!). See, Red Cliff is a old American base. It was put up during World War II. And then after the war, it was just left. It's falling apart and neglected and that's horrid. No one cares about the past. So we explore and document places. Anyway, back to the eggs. When we've gone in the past, we've just gone in buildings. D. has wanted to go into an underground water tank. And no one would go. But today, I did. And it was cool. And really scary but excellent when there. We had to climb down about 10 rungs to the bottom of this underground circular room about two stories high. There was a lot of crap on the floor of it, along with three to four inches of water. The 'Indiana Jones' theme played as we explored as much as we could. It was great. I'm getting so much braver.

Oh, and want to know how to freak people out. Play music on something they can't see as you walk past them. We passed some people on the way out of the area (many people hike around there but don't explore). The five of us, sweaty and tired looking, walked past them playing the 'Indiana Jones' theme. It was great!

That was the last few days. Now, back to the grind. Stats then tires then yoga then sleep tomorrow. We'll see how it goes from there!!

Don't forget to check out my last two entries!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *