New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Polo doesn't smell like sex anymore, 2001-12-08, 7:33 p.m.


First, I'm writing several entries tonight. Please check out this one about the auction if you were planning to bid on it. I'll be updating people as the situation gets sorted. Onwards

I was at the gas station just then, picking up a few things for this evening when I smelled the man next to me. He smelled of Ralph Lauren Polo. This brought back memories of high school and people and times that were had.

I had a good friend. Well, two actually. I'll call them Susan and Patricia. Of course, that's not their real names. They and I were close, talked all the time, shared rooms, visited each other, discussed boys and the like. Susan in particular is involved in this memory. She was quite different than I, raised in a less than equal household and taught that she should be thin and pretty, use makeup and have a boyfriend - life was worth it for a man. My upbringing was different. Of course, we weren't totally close - we were mean to each other behind backs, she was mean to my face and well, we've not been friends for years. But in high school we were.

I remember when I moved to Clarenville. I finally got a boyfriend. This guy who, I suspect, asked me out because I was new to town. After hearing his reputation from people after we broke up, I'm pretty sure no one there would go out with him. My darling first boyfriend, who told me that if I'd sleep with him he'd "buy a good condom - like a gold coin". Who told me that if I got a nose ring his parents wouldn't let me in the house. My mom told me later that he'd had his fist clenched at that time as well. Like he would have hit me. The boyfriend who broke up with me because I didn't seem to love him and want to be with him enough. It was kind of mutual. I didn't really love him and didn't always want to be with him :) We agreed it was for the best.

He wore polo. Just a little, from a sample bottle he had. Especially on special events like special dates or times that he wanted to seduce me (as I am now scent sensitive and he'd probably knock me out with the smell and then have his way with me!). I discussed this with my Susan who also had a boyfriend that wore it and we agreed that Polo was indeed the sexiest scent around and we would never date a guy that didn't wear it.

I moved back to where I am now. I later hooked up with a guy at a drama festival. Making out in the science building at the University. Going to a dance directly afterwards and not recognizing each other when he removed his hat and I removed my sweater. Turned out he lived up the road from me. We went out one night. As I opened the door all I could smell was Polo. I'd mentioned my liking for it and he, well, he bathed in it. As any young healthy male will do if he wants to have sex with a girl a week after they met. No we didn't have sex. I was tempted but we didn't. Something about it being in the middle of the woods on a cold night. And not knowing him. That didn't help his case, the fact that I knew him for only a week. Later he didn't call, didn't contact me until the next friday. We found out where he and his friends were going and then we went there. Patricia and I ignored him at the Red Circle. It felt good. He wasn't wearing Polo then.

Susan later started going out with my first boyfriend in a Long Distance Relationship. He told her that he was still in love with me but he was learning to love her. I found out his reputation - he was said to have sexually assulted several people. I couldn't and wouldn't tell her as I promised the person who told me I wouldn't. He was worried what would happen if my old boyfriend found out he was talking about it. Out of respect for him I warned her that her boyfriend wasn't all she thought he was. And I didn't say why not. We stopped talking. Had I told her would it have made a difference? No. She would have still thought I was jealous and kept going out with him. He started calling me a bitch. We started talking again eventually, but not the same.

Her first sexual experience was with this guy. I told my mom about it, as when Patricia and I found out we were confused. Apparently the condom stuck in her. Mom said that it sounded like rape. Date rape. Susan never would admit that, just said that it got better.

I lost my love of Polo. It still was a sexy scent, but none of my following boyfriends wore it. I started to like the natural scent of a clean body and deoderant. Susan and Patricia and I stopped being a threesome. Patricia stopped talking to me often when she joined the uni newspaper. She completely stopped when I didn't bring her back anything from China. Susan and I lost contact after we had a lunch and discussed her current relationship (she finally broke up with my ex and then found someone else after three years) and my current fling. Current at the time of course, as this was back in 1997. Or 1996. She's now teaching 'around the bay', wanting to go back to a smaller community because of a man she loves. I am on the same library council as her mother. Patricia I don't know. Oddly, she started hanging out with someone else I used to know. At least for a while. With the A. from this entry. That was odd, two people I wasn't talking to hanging out. I don't know where she is now.

It's funny, I have so many people that are part of the past for me. I write about people that at one point I was part of their group and then no longer. These two were my best friends and my worst enemies. But at the time, the best friends part was nice, the polo sexy and me.. well... not quite me yet.

What song seems to go with this memory? 'Wannabe' by the Spice Girls. Sure, the Spice Girls weren't around when we were. But it seems to fit.

Yo, I'll tell you what I want what I really really want,


So tell me what you want what you really really want
I'll tell you what I want what I really really want,
So tell me what you want what you really really want
I wanna I wanna I wanna I wanna I wanna really really really wanna zigazig ha

If you want my future, forget my past,
If you wanna get with me, better make it fast
Now don't go wasting, my precious time
Get your act together we could be just fine

I'll tell you what I want what I really really want,
So tell me what you want what you really really want
I wanna I wanna I wanna I wanna I wanna really really really wanna zigazigha

If you wannabe my lover, you gotta get with my friends
Make it last forever, Friendship never ends
If you wannabe my lover, you have got to give,
taking is to easy but that's the way it is.

A what'd think about that?
Now you know how I feel.
Say you can handle my love,
are you for real?
I won't be hasty, I'll give you a try
If you really bug me then I'll say goodbye

I'll tell you what I want what I really really want,


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *