New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Sexism at school, 2003-03-30, 9:30 p.m.


Well, it has been a while.

I've been breathing. It's been nice.

I had a huge discussion with my sister and parents today. My mom and I were debating wiht my dad and sister about the sexist mascot that his school has (my sister graduated from the school). It's a knight on a horse. They are the cavaliers. We felt that the male image was overwhelming. Dad felt that they do a lot for gender issues. We feel that yes, they do, but having that image gives a feeling of patriarchy.

My sister felt that noone feels that way. That she can do whatever she wants and school taught her that. We fought because I told her she was uneducated in this area, which she freaked out about.

It all ended without {many) tears, but it was interesting. The school system is fraught with sexism that noone picks up on. Dad defended his school and that choice for ages. But later he said the girls team feel that they get less respect from the school at large than the guys. It's all part and parcel. And so very frustrating.

What do you do when people don't want to hear your message? My sister didn't. My dad did, but didn't. It's frustrating.

That was today. Tomorrow, it's back to work time. Let's see how that goes.....


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *