New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Friday evening and the smog is rolling, 2002-08-16, 6:06 p.m.


Wow... it's been such a busy day. Busy couple days actually.

I bought an old IMac yesterday. It's green and I call it appy. No, not a version of happy. It's like Apple, but shortened and well, why am I explaining. I just can't get it working. It has a lot of things disabled it seems so I need to format it and reinstall and the like. It's so neat however. Yay!

Things are getting done for the wedding. There are a few things to do and a few things to pick up but it's almost done. Which is wonderful. Next week we'll be able to relax more than we expected. Which is fantastic. I can't believe that this time next week I'll be at a bridal shower and this time two weeks from now I'll be married.

Which I don't think will change much. I am changing my last name. I know. This surprises many. I'm keeping my own but I'm added D.s. This is partly because I want to have a unified family with a unified last name. It is also partly because I have an unfortunate last name. I have a name that has caused people to e-mail me death threats. I get snickers and questions and assumptions. On the web, I often go by my mothers maiden name. It's tough - it makes me more empathic to those who are victims of hate slurs and crimes. Whilst I've not been part of a hate crime, I think the death threats and abuse are hate slurs. And I don't mind leaving that. I will however include my last name within my name - I'll have two middle names. And perhaps, if I had a neat last name I wouldn't change. Who knows?

It's funny. I feel weird that I'm taking on D.s name that I have to justify it.

It's so warm. I think I must go lie down and melt. Beh.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *