New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

avoiding work, yet again, 2001-06-20, 9:24 a.m.


Well here I am writing about 'Teen Sexuality in the Age of Confusion'. Execpt I keep writing in the age of confusing. personally, I think thats a little ironic. but that could be all the coffee.

I wrote a big thing yesterday about music and then, halfway through, my computer froze up. Gotta love it. Bah. Basically tho, it was about how lines in music can just reach out and grab you. Take the line from the Nields 'James' - "James visits the washington zoo. He says I like the invertebrates best. He says they remind me of my friends from high school. They're oh so spineless.". It just sums up so much about what I think about many people in high school today - or in university for that matter. Or, how about the title line from Ani's 'Untouchable Face' - "Fuck you, and your untouchable face". Or the line from Ben Folds Five 'Brick' - "Now we're alone. Well, she's alone. And I'm alone. And now I know that". Or from Dar WIlliams 'The Ballad of Mary Magdalen' - "But long ago I had my work, when I was in my prime. But I gave it up, and all for love. It was his career or mine." How perfect is that? Lines that stand out and make me want to listen again.

I have had a lot of experience in music. Piano, voice, flute, guitar, bass and so on and so on. And I've tried song writing. Its hard. Its so hard to put together words that you can put to a tune and have them make some sense or tell a story. So to write lines that stand out from this, well, its amazing. I really admire it.

In other news, just to switch topics totally, I got my bagel. Not yesterday, but today. Course, my new, super toaster oven doesn't toast. but thats ok. I think I have to learn how to work it. Its crazy for a toaster oven. But major thanks go to Canadian Tire and their credit card for saving us from the plastic smelling fumes that invaded the house when we used our old one.

I saw a bunch of my old students yesterday. That was nice. Sad tho. Just because I won't be teaching them next year. Unless that school hires me, I'll be at another school. I won't be leading them in drama, won't be getting them to read out passages from 'Macbeth', won't be tourturing them with 'Julius Caesar'. I'll have new classes. And a new drama group. And the nature of teaching is that you go from class to class, year to year. But, theres something about the first groups that you work with. It'd be neat if in 15 years or so I ran into them and they remembered me. That'd be nice.

Ok... I think I've avoided work long enough. Must get back to writing about that video. For those keeping track, this is video 4 of 5. I'll have them done and will move on to the website tonight (its sections of www.media-awareness.ca, in the educators section, if anyone is interested.). I'll have it all done for friday. I'd better at least!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *