New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Need Suggestions, 2003-10-23, 7:38 p.m.


I posted this to a Community BBS today regarding pregnancy. And then I realized that some of you all out there might have an answer. So here is my post. If anyone has any suggestions, please pass them on.

Hi Everyone,

I need some advice. I am 12 weeks pregnant (due May 5th) with our first child. My husband and I live with a spoiled and pampered cat. This cat does not like children, or at least does not like the young (1.5-4 years old) children that he has met thus far (all three of them who were, to be fair, tormenting him until he could hide). Our concern is thus with the role that he will play when our family of three becomes a family of four.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how we can introduce the cat to the idea of a baby in the house?

Right now, the cat sleeps in our room, which we're fine with continuing, yet, for the first little while the baby will also be sleeping there. Is there anything we can buy to help in this process? We don't want the cat to 'pick at' the baby, especially while they're sleeping. During the day, I can close the door and listen in on a monitor, but at night, when we're trying to sleep, we can't watch the cat the whole time. And we won't get any rest if we try to bar him from the room - he is used to sleeping with us and we enjoy it.

My question seems vague as I reread it, but really, I'm just looking for any advice to keep our household harmonious.

In advance, thank you all very much,

Alison

So? Anyone? Suggestions are very welcome!


(5 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *