New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Talk shows are silly, 2001-06-27, 1:17 p.m.


Ok... so I'm watching 'Ricki Lake' (don't laugh!) and there was this guy on. Its a DNA testing 'are you my daddy' kind of show. And this guy comes on. His story is so funny, or it would be if a baby wasn't involved. He's like, Well, she tole me it wasn't mine and then when it was born she tole me it wasn't mine and then she tole me it wasn't mine and then she tole me it was. So I called Ricki'. Now... I know that if I were him and in that situation, I wouldn't call Ricki Lake to sort out this situation. If for two years I was 'tole' that I wasn't the father of a child (ok, I'm female, but go with it) and then 'tole' that I was, I wouldn't go to a talk show to find out the truth. Then the mother comes on and we're 'tole' that she took a different paternity test with the person that she thought was the father and that he turned out not to be. Note the use of the term 'person'. Then we meet the now prospective father's mother (ok, the lady who will be a grandmother if Ricki's test indicates that way). She is the coolest person! She's got 'Grandmother Love' ready for the baby and can't wait to find out if she's a grandmother for the ninth time. She's sassy. She rocks. I don't care what the test says, this baby has to grow up in contact with her. Anyway, she points out to the audience what the mother did not. THe mother has had THREE DNA tests. The mother said 'person', it should be 'people'. Cuz yeah. She's just ticking them off her list one by one. I just hope since this one is on national television she finds out that he's the father.

Talk shows are funny. They really are. Now 'Jenny Jones' is on talking about Child Beauty Pageants. Oh My Goddess... one of the nine year olds looks older than her mom!

I'm rereading 'Curtain' by Agatha Christie. Its funny, I don't mind rereading her books, even though I usually remember who did it. I don't reread them over and over again, but instead put a bit of time between the readings. This one has been a while between. Anyway.. it reminds me of grade eleven and language 2101 and my third paper. That was the first typed paper that I wrote that was really long. 20 pages I think, double spaced, 12 size font, with footnotes and bibliography. It compared Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and their main detectives Hercule Poirot and Sherlock Holmes, looking at their first and last cases and their sidekicks Hastings and Watson. It was very long. I still remember everyone being asleep while I finished it. I wonder where that is now... hmm... I probably have it on disk somewhere. And now.. now I'm going to be teaching that course. Well, when I get a job. If that happens.

Thats my focus these days. Its horrid, wondering about employment and waiting for a phone call. Its so stressful. arg.

I think I'm going to watch a bit more of 'Jenny Jones'. Yeah...I'm a geek.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *