New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

This year, 2003-12-28, 12:13 p.m.


From many places

*New Year's Survey*

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Well, the obvious is that I became pregnant. However, past that, I would say facing my own health limitations and, unrelatedly, buying a house.

2. Did you keep your New Year's Resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don't really make resolutions

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Two teachers I work with did. L. gave birth just over a year ago.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No one close to me, but someone I admired professionally did.

5. What countries did you visit?

Canada and the US.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

Time.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

September 11th. The day I found out I had become pregnant.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Pregnancy. Completing my masters. Buying a house.

9. What was your biggest failure?

The failure of my lungs. Or perhaps, turning in a paper I wasn't pleased with for my final paper of my masters.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Yes. My lungs caused me to have to leave a job I loved because it was either leave it or having my lungs not work any more.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A night at the Chateau Frontenac was the fanciest. Best? My digital camera.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

D.s. He is a support and a wonder through everything.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

That of a local congregation that is horrified that their spiritual leader has become honest with them - he's gay and has left his marriage and they don't like it.

14. Where did most of your money go?

The bank. And bookstores.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Our summer trip. It meant the end of my masters and a whole new experience.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

'Still Fighting It' by Ben Folds.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder?

Happier

ii. thinner or fatter?

Bigger

iii. richer or poorer?

Richer and Poorer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Relaxed.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Procrastinated.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

With family.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?

Sometimes I fell in love again. And I fell in love with my growing stomach.

23. How many one-night stands?

None.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

CSI, Monster Garage, American Chopper, Trading Spaces, The Amazing Race, Survivor, 24, Dead like Me.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

No.

26. What was the best book you read? this year?

Cunt: A Declaration of Independance.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Not sure.

28. What did you want and get?

I wanted pregnancy and I got it.

29. What did you want and not get?

Nothing really. If I want it, I try to get it, as long as it's worth getting.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Perhaps 'Love Actually' or 'Bend it like Beckham'.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 27 having supper with my husband and then watching a movie.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Nothing really.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

Ever changing but lots of black.

34. What kept you sane?

Willpower.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Kiera Knightly.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

I'm not sure. There were several.

37. Who did you miss?

L. often. And during the summer celebrations, several of my cousins, especially brotherdown.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

My belly baby.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003:

Things will happen, it just takes time.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

I'm not sure. There are so many songs that sum up moments, but not the year. Perhaps:

"What I've kept with me, and what I've thrown away... and where the hell I've ended up on this glarey random day"

So much has stayed, so much has left and life is ever changing.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *