New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Warming up to write my proposal, 2003-05-25, 3:16 p.m.


I'm out at my parents house again, it being a sunday and all. Our internet didn't work this morning, so I was able to come out early and talk with mom for a while. On wednesday, she has an appointment, so we're going to hang out at my place, painting windown frames, go to the appointment and then come home and clean my kitchen cupboards. Yay help from mom! The kitchen will be wonderful and clean and using all the stuff that I got for being a good enough womyn to get married and ready to take care of my man. Oh wait, did I show my scarcasm towards the traditional bridal shower? I believe I did. Ah well. It does mean we have new stuff to use, which is nice as the stuff we have now is old - from my childhood and before. So it's all good.

And I've decided that the next bridal shower I go to I'm giving the bride-to-be a cordless drill.

Anyway, I'm writing my proposal and thus far I have my topic. It is as follows:

    For my assignment, I will be researching the topic of the manifestation of emotional issues for intermediate and secondary school students and how it differs between genders, as well as the impact that popular culture has on this manifestation and how it is representing in the mediums of television, music and cinema.

Much of this is from a project that I wrote in September/October that I posted in the entry partially entitled A Gender Based Teaching and Learning Problem. I wanted to do something on working class schools or the impact that peaceful schools has on a troubled school, but as I'm not in work, my main sources are unattainable, so I will research this topic which I also enjoy. Enjoy to the same degree actually, so it all works out. I just have to write a two page proposal.

Some of this is related to the nature vs. nurture issues of the We Have Brains question for the week, which I will answer when my proposal is done. We have within our culture, an idea of what a girl is and what a boy is. From this, we have expectations and we teach them, if only subconsiously, how to behave in all situations. From the Happy Meal Toys they recieve as children (I just bought one and they asked me if I wanted a girl toy or a boy toy. The girl ones were dolls that were tall and skinny that you could dress up, the boy ones were He-Man. I took Orko from the Masters of the Universe Series) to movies representing killing by boys and emotional twisting by females, we teach how to behave. Look at Eminem and Pink. Both sing about families breaking up, yet Eminem sings about hurting others physically whilst Pink sings about it being her fault and promising to be better. How does this all relate to our children in schooling and from this, how do they act and react in general when they are dealing with issues? What impact does learning through popular culture have on them?

Ok, now I think I can write my proposal. More if I can't.


(2 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *