New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Weekend update, 2004-08-09, 10:43 a.m.


We had a party for P. on Friday night. It was great - with an exception of course - and really showed me how family is important. One of my brothers in law was there, my motherinlaw, my cousin and his friends, another cousin (his sister), another cousin and her friend, an aunt and uncle, the siblings and their dates and my parents. So it was small, but it was wonderful. We served the top of my wedding cake, as well as a yummy vanilla cake for dessert. I had made punch, and we had that and softdrinks, as well as some beer and other drinks, along with our steak and salads. P. recieved a few gifts - a baby ring, some toys (including a stuffed cellphone which he LOVES - see the photos below) and a drool teddy bear (as he's teething, he's drooling). We showed a video of him from birth until now, which made me nearly cry (even after seeing it several times at home) and did make others sniffle or cry. It was a great evening.

I also recieved my beads that day - the beads I ordered to make a baby necklace for P. Pictures of it are below. It's made of crystal and stirling silver with a white topaz clasp. It came out quite well.

I also found a job that I want to apply for. It's a stretch - it's for a social studies department head, and I've not taught Social Studies in the classroom - but I'm going to try for it. As I said in my application, I'm an unorthadox choice but a worthy one. I really want it because it's at the school I was at last year - the closes at 2:25, child-friendly, close to D.s work school. I'm qualified in everything but classroom experience. So we'll see.

P. had his first negative encounter with the cat this weekend. So far, it's been generally positive - when there is interaction - Ollie tends to avoid us lately. (Poor guy, starved for attention). P. was sitting on my lap at the computer and had bare legs and tummy. Ollie jumped up on my keyboard and lost his balance. He put his feet down - on P.s belly and leg. P. screamed and ollie ran. P. has a little scratch on his belly and one on his leg. And I was guilt ridden for ages. So far, P. 0: Ollie 1. We'll see how that changes as P. learns to walk and run.

I have an eye appointment today. I'm finally getting new glasses and contacts. This makes me happier than I can say. I like my glasses but they're old - six years old. I'm hoping that I can get some that I like. Plus contacts are great to have sometimes. So it all works.

And now, pictures:


Waiting for a call


Hello?


Can you hear me?


Mmmmm.....


The full necklace


Patrick


(2 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *