New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

We Have Brains - History, Part One, 2003-03-11, 6:46 a.m.


We Have Brains asks:

"In that spirit, this week's question(s): What was the most important thing you've learned about women's history? What do you wish you'd been taught that you had to find out for yourself? And finally, how does that apply to where you/we are today?

The most important thing I've learned about womyns history is that we have one. Cynical as that might sound, learning that life was different for females was the most important thing that I've learned. No one incident stands out - the journey is the focus, not the stops along the way.

I wish I'd known this when I was younger - in junior and senior high. The finding of this gave voice to concerns that I had and issues that I was seeing. When you are uninformed you think you're paranoid or crazy. But knowing we have a history makes me aware of things around me and aware of things that before I questioned.

See, one would think that not knowing about things would make it so that you felt you could do anything. But in actual fact it works in the opposite manner - it makes you feel that you can't because you don't understand the forces against you.

I have to think this out more, but I wanted to write this bit. Interesting question.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *