New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Why I write, 2003-03-15, 11:33 a.m.


We Have Brains pointed it's members towards this research:

Message from Jordynn:
I�m working this project for a graduate seminar I�m taking called English Online, which focuses on rhetoric and the Internet.

About my research:
I�m interested in how people (women especially) interact and speak out in online blogging communities like We Have Brains. My research method is meant to be open, collaborative, and evolving�so that means I would like input and comments from We Have Brains participants. A lot of research on women and the Internet seems to analyze things from a distance and then make pronouncements (i.e. this is subversive, this isn�t, etc.) without actually asking people about their experiences. So I�d like to hear what you think. You can e-mail methoughts or ideas on any of these questions, or post comments on my blog, where I plan to post regular updates, comments, etc.

Online Identity & Community
What attracted you to WHB? What kinds of people do you think are attracted to WHB?
Do you feel like you assume a different identity, or shape your identity in different ways when you write online? (i.e. do you feel like you can be more assertive, or more outgoing? Can you share parts of yourself that you might not reveal in �RL�?) Has blogging or WHB changed how you think about yourself?
What kinds of relationships have you been able to form online in the blogsphere?
Do you find it easier to �speak out� when you write online? Have you encountered any barriers to speaking out, forming relationships or communicating in the �blogosphere�?
What have you learned from being involved in WHB? How has it affected your life?

Writing, Technology & Collaboration
How do you write for the collab or for your blog? (i.e. do you write a draft first, go back and revise, etc.?) How has blogging changed how you think about writing?
Is there something about blogging that�s different from other forms of writing or communication? Does it change how you communicate?
How do collaborative blogs like WHB connect personal and political action? Do they enable feminist action in ways that might not be available otherwise?

Well, as a fellow grad student (however, not yet at the Doctorate Level) I feel compelled to answer.

I found myself attracted to We have Brains (WHB) because for once, I found something that was female focused and that dealt with female issues. I loved Aprils other diaries and found it through her personal diary. From there, it took a while to feel I was able to write something in response - I felt inadequate. But finally, I realized that my writings were just as valid - they may not be as good sometimes but they were as valid. The questions also helped me relieve some frustrations that I felt. Now, I don't answer all the questions or issues, due partly to work and partly to school, but I try to answer the ones that spark me, no matter how busy I am.

Online, I feel I can be more myself than I am. I censor myself greatly, but that censorship is not in words but in references to events and people - somethings I accept as forming who I am, but don't dwell on, other events are things that may not be my place to relate and other things had the tendency to bring attacks in the past, something which I like avoid, if it doesn't mean compromising myself. However, writing online does give me a forum to talk about the things that I censor in 'real life' - when you work in a school, it's hard to find people who find gender issues and feminism are the main concern. I can talk myself through frustrations and try to figure out where my thoughts lie - sometimes I feel committed to an issue, but don't know why; when I write I can sort out why I feel a way I do, or may even explain myself to another point. I try to do as much as possible offline - I used to live my life online, which I try not to do now - but sometimes online is a place for me to sort out what I want to do offline.

I've become a better writer since I started writing online. Or at least, better at forming my thoughts in the written form. I've discovered that I love writing and may just end up writing a book at some point in the near future - journal writing has showed me that I am capable of it. Writing was something I always envied others of being able to do - I now feel that I could possibly do it, even though I'm not good enough right now.

I've not formed really close attachments to people through blogging. However, I have formed relationships by finding people who feel much as I do about issues. Its a relationship of comfort in many ways - I know that I'm not alone. I read diaries and get ideas and inspiration. I am also opened to other traditions and ideas, which has opened my mind and horizons!

When I write, I sometimes just let my fingers flow. Sometimes the words are pounding in my heart as I'm driving or working or sleeping. Sometimes I write and then in a day or two proof-read, other times I write and proof-read immediately. Usually, the more passionate ones I have to let sit for a day or two. I write when I feel passion about it - sometimes ignoring all else, sometimes needing to do other things while I write to keep ideas going.

I know that I didn't answer all the questions. If anyone wants to question the answers or post another, let me know. I just know that writing in my journal has been a way that I've developed as a person, as a writer and as a feminist. We Have Brains and other collabs are a great use of technology and, in my eyes, are using technologies in a way that they were meant to be used. I'm proud to be a part of one.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *