New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I can't read your mind, 2001-11-23, 12:28 p.m.


You know what bothers me? When people expect that I know what they want. I don't know what they want. I can't read minds. And I'm new at this - I don't know what's needed as I've never done this before. I can help plan projects and I can help set them up. I can introduce them. I cannot however supply leads when I don't know that I need to. The person I'm replacing may have always supplied them. However, I am not her and I need to be told things. You can't assume that I know - why? BECAUSE I'M NOT A MINDREADER!!!!!!!!!!! If you need leads, let me know. Say, "this is what I need". If you need ANYTHING, let me know. I will get it. However, I can't get it if I don't know. If I say 'do you need any help with that' let me know what help I can give. If that involves picking up stuff, like leads or markers or a protractor or whatever, then I'll do it if that's what's expected. But if I don't know I can't do it.

I think I'm talking to the wrong people about this. See, what happened is that I was just talking to a science teacher. They are doing a unit in the lab. There are 5 science teachers, two are doing it now. First, noone said 'we are starting this this date'. Instead I was told it was upcoming and for me to get the copies done. So I did. Then, all of a sudden, it was starting. And noone told me. I talked to one of the teachers and helped. I introed it to the class. I helped set it up. That was all fine. Now another class is doing it. I had talked to that teacher but he didn't seem to need me. He just came in for sizzors. He said 'so the LRC isn't supplying the leads this year'. I said no, if I knew I had to fine, but I asked Jodie what was needed and they were already there. Apparently they're the french departments. I said I had markers, but he didn't take those. I said that if it was all there, then I didn't know if I had to get anything. He just kind of walked off. Now, really. If I tell them that I'm available. If I tell them that I can do this or that, why wouldn't I do it if I'm asked. BUT, in the same breath, I am new and I don't know what is expected. So they should give input past 'do the copying'.

I should go talk to him again. Maybe I will if I see him again this class. Just because I don't want to seem like I'm not doing my job - but I don't want them to think I can read minds. Because I can't.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *