New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Somewhere in her smile she knows....., 2001-11-30, 4:38 p.m.


I nearly cried this morning, hearing the news about George Harrison. He wasn't my favourite Beatle. John was. He was my second favourite however. I liked his commitment. His I'm-not-john-or-paul-ness. On the radio today they said he wrote this song for John after he died. I don't know if that's true - please don't write with 'you stupid head, you're so wrong and dumb' or 'you stupid head, you didn't know that?'. I give you the lyrics to 'All those years ago'. A tribute from George to John. Now... a tribute to George. All those years ago you made the world sing with you. You were part of a revolution. Thank you.

All Those Years Ago

I'm shouting all about love
While they treated you like a dog
When you were the one who had made it
so clear
All those years ago.

I'm talking all about how to give
They don't act with much honesty
But you point the way to the truth when you say
All you need is love.

Living with good and bad
I always look up to you
Now we're left cold and sad
By someone the devil's best friend
Someone who offended all.

We're living in a bad dream
They've forgotten all about mankind
And you were the one they backed up to
the wall
All those years ago
You were the one who imagined it all
All those years ago.

Deep in the darkest night
I send out a prayer to you
Now in the world of light
Where the spirit free of the lies
And all else that we despised.

They've forgotten all about God
He's the only reason we exist
Yet you were the one that they said was
so weird
All those years ago
You said it all though not many had ears
All those years ago
You had controld of our smiles and our tears
All those years ago

Then of course, one of my favourite Beatles songs. One that I am now just realizing that he wrote. 'Something'. Enjoy.

Something

Something in the way she moves
Attracts me like no other lover
Something in the way she woos me

I don't want to leave her now
You know I believe her now

Somewhere in her smile she knows
That I don't need no other lover
Something in her style that shows me

Don't want to leave her now
You know I believe her now

You're asking me will my love grow
I don't know, I don't know
You stick around now it may show
I don't know, I don't know

Something in the way she knows
And all I have to do is think of her
Something in the things she shows me

Don't want to leave her now
You know I believe her now

RIP George


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *