New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

My Actions, 2002-04-23, 6:08 a.m.


The topic for the we have brains colab made me think this week. I walk around with the Wild Womyn shirt on, spouting feminist slogans and gear. I demand to be treated equally and live my life in a way that there is no question that I am equal and don't expect to be treated differently because I am womyn. But what am I doing to ensure that others can see what feminism is? As the question states "Feminism is a useless belief if you don't take some action around yours." Is it worth it if I live that way but others aren't aware? Easy answer - no. What am I doing about it? Less easy answer.

Working with teenagers is a gift some days, a curse others. I think that what I have started this year is a challenging of their thoughts and ideas that create anti equality thoughts within them and make cycles of dominance and submission continue. I've also tried to get them to look after their own sexual and emotional health. While not all of this is specifically feminist in the female sense of the word, it is feminist in the 'equality for all' sense.

Things I've done? Well, I've sparked discussions about feminism and had many admit that they were feminists, even if they first denied it at the sound of the word. I've stressed communication in sexual relationships, stating if you can't ask them questions about their sexual health you are not ready to have sex with them. I've scared many into getting pap smears and prostate exams when they come of age or opportunity by discussing STD's. I've challenged the everyday homophobia encountered in schools. With this challenge I did get many to admit that their use of words such as 'that's gay' or calling each other other such terms, which they felt were powerless, could have a lot of power indeed. I've gotten them to question advertisements or at least admit to themselves their 'shallowness' (as stated by a student). I've been termed the hippie, freaky teacher. They watch what they say in my class and for some I think it has extended. Even if for one it has extended then it's worth it. I saw a journal entry written yesterday by someone who had made an inappropriate statement earlier in the year. He is now writing about love and stating kindness in the most important factor. This is progress. So that's what I've done - fought the teenage mindset and psyche.

What will I do? Again, within school and something I've been working on for a while - I've even mentioned it before. We are debuting the 'Boundaries' unit this week. I'm beginning it with my class. I've made up or revamped most of this unit which deals with :

  • Bullying
  • Sexuality
  • Advertising and Gender
  • Home and School rules
  • Dating Violence
  • Physical Boundaries
  • Exceptionalities
  • Learning Disabilities

With this unit, I'm introducing these topics to the students to make them think a little. I've formatted it so that they will have to examine their own viewpoints at times but also examine around them. For some of them it won't do a thing. They will stay the same and that's all I can do. But some I may make think. This unit is being done in the LRC - when we move back to the classroom I want to discuss with them some of the issues more. I want to discuss advertising and gender and the power struggle that exists there. I want to discuss homophobia and get them to think. I want to discuss many of these topics. I'm hoping this action will not only make them think, but will make them feel that everyone, no matter age, gender or sexuality, is equal. That no matter if you're walking or in a wheelchair you deserve to have equal opportunities. That you and others are worth being safe, being treated fairly and free of verbal, emotional, physical or sexual abuse. This is my action. More later on what happens. I don't know if this is what is meant by this challenge. But it's what I'm doing. To me, this is important. It means a lot.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *