New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

.5% is half of 1% and other mathematical wonders, 2001-08-31, 11:49 a.m.


Ok, this is the silliest thing I've seen in a while. I bought .5% milk today (usually I get skim, but I've been splurging and getting 1 or 2 % as I've been buying little bottles. Anyway, I didn't want to go right back to skim.. why am I explaining..? Anyway..)My .5% milk exclaims boldly on the side '1/2 the fat of 1%!'. Now... is the general population so ... I don't know.. stupid that they need it defined that .5% milk has half the fat of 1%? One, .5 is half of 1. Two, 1% milk is 1% fat. Thus .5% milk is .5%. Its not that hard to figure out with out it being in big, bold letters. arg.

I've been playing with Style Sheets lately. I may change the design of this page. I've done one with blues and dragon runes and one with a 'Heavenly Creatures' theme. They're loverly. I'm really proud. My problem with them is that they don't work in Netscape. I might have to redo them in tables for Netscape and put a redirector in the code to get people shifted to the netscape version. Why can't the programmers of Netscape get a clue and realize that their browser doesn't show many of the options out there for web design? And they're little things that could be fixed. Like, ok, when I was finishing up the design for sugarbugs page, I was putting in her diaryrings. And Netscape wouldn't display them correctly. One might not of had the background colour, another wouldn't resize to the table. And so on. If you've designed your page, take a look at it in Netscape. There's one diary I read that looks different in Netscape. I keep wanting to contact them and ask if they want to know how to make it look the same in each browser, but I'm not sure which version they want, or if they've realized that it looks different but are ok with it. Its hard to write someone and say 'Netscape has played with your page - want me to fix it?' when you don't know them that well. Or at all.

I am offically a teacher today. I got my certification in the mail! Yay!!! I am a certified teacher who can work in a classroom by herself and get paid for it! Yay!

I think I'm going to go play some more. Yay CSS!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *