New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

My Christmas, 2001-12-25, 10:17 p.m.


Well I'm home. Picked up D. and we came home with our little ollie cat. It was a good Christmas for the most part. Both of us went to our parents houses and stayed over on Christmas Eve night. It's good to be home but I had a great time at the parents. Why? Well...

  • Church. Yes, Church. Now, I'm not really Christian. I'm sorting out all of those beliefs but basically I've read to much feminist literature to subscribe to the beliefs. I do believe it all may be true but because of personal feelings on other matters, I don't really fall into that category. The best I can say I am is non-practicing wiccan. That was a better description a few years ago but will do for now I guess. I am of the religion and beliefs of me. Anyway... how did this turn into a discussion on my beliefs? We went to church. We go every Christmas Eve, mostly for the singing. And it was a lot of fun. I laughed a lot. No, we didn't go to a fun church. It's just we laugh a lot. Like in 'Hark the Herald Angels Sing" there's a line "Veil'd in flesh, the Godhead see;". Just say Godhead. {deep voice} GODHEAD {/deep voice}. Yes, it makes three young adults laugh. Every year. I pretended to have a coughing fit so that no one would realize. Then during communion I was singing along to a song. The organ was playing, noone was singing execpt me, under my breath. My brother turned to me "You are making that up, you are making that up!!!". The person in front of us heard and started to laugh. Added to that all, my sister was passing my brother money for the offering. A quarter (we had an assortment of loonies, toonies and quarters). It dropped in the coat of the person in front of us (the coat was laid on the pew, she was standing). We just looked at it like 'Ok, do we have one less quarter or do we try to get it and see what happens?'. We left it there. All in all one of our better years :)
  • Drinking and eating with my family. Traditions. We had our dessert party with all of our cookies and cakes (especially the rum cake :) as well as having red-hot bunnies, which is a toasted bread with ketchup, cheese and veggies/bacon (depending on if you're a omni or carni vore). I drank cheap sangria and we just talked. We even went to bed then came back out and talked again. It was great.
  • I also realized that D. and I have been together for five years, not four. We suck at counting. Of course, when mentioning this, everyone counted back five years. When I was engaged. To someone else. But I said it was our first date. First dates can be anything. This one showed me that no matter how much I tried to make it right, I was making a mistake and could do much better than I was. That there was someone out there that would love me for being me. So yeah. Anyway... we didn't get into that in the discussion. Just decided that we wouldn't discuss it :) And that I was a (as I put it) a slut. Ah well. If being one means that I end up where I need to be, we shall instead refer to me as daring and open to new opportunities. ;)
  • Sleeping in the same room as my sister. It was like a sleepover or a dorm room. It was great. We talked for a bit and then slept. It was nice being sisters.
  • Gifts. Of course. Not just the recieving, but also the giving. Honest. I really liked giving gifts. This year I have a good job. So I gave good gifts. I also got some great stuff :) Such as:
    • 'Quills' DVD
    • 'Executive Orders', 'Without Remorse', 'The Bear and the Dragon' and 'Clear and Present Danger' by Tom Clancy. Yes, I like his books. And yes, I collect authors works. If I like an author I try to get all their works.
    • 'The Blind Assissin' by Margaret Atwood
    • 'The Princess Diaries' book (yay!) and soundtrack (that's a wtf moment. But, a well meant gift)
    • Two pairs of pajamas
    • Gloves. For hands and for feet :)
    • An Enya CD
    • Nail polish and other girlie girlie bathroom stuff.

    I got other things as well. Right now, these are the things I remember.
  • Good food. We had a big breakfast of scramble eggs, homemade hashbrowns, toast, pancakes and bacon and ham (for those inclined). We had a supper of cabbage, potato, turnip, carrot, pudding, dressing (both outside of the turkey for me :) and turkey for those inclined. MMMMmmmmmmm
  • Watching 'Shreck' with my parents and sister while Bro played a computer game nearby.
  • Coming home knowing that Christmas went well. And knowing the cat is thrilled we're home (he spent the night with D. in an unfamiliar house where kids bugged him this afternoon. Poor Ollie)

D. and I are doing our 'Christmas Morning' tommorrow morning. Yay! Then we're going to lunch at my parents and supper with his mom.

This Christmas is not perfect. No first christmas when someone is missing is going to be perfect. But we're doing good. And we're surviving. There had to be a first christmas and this is it.

Merry Holidays to all. No matter what you celebrate, or if this is just another day in the year to you, have a good one.

 

Ok, after I wrote this entry, I did the 'Which Kevin Smith Female are you?' test and had to share my results. I'm alyssa! Of course, I wanted to be, so while I was honest, I may have slanted that way. Whoops. And why am I putting this here? Well, because I don't know if people look at previous entries all the time and I wanted to share this - as well, as this long entry that I wrote. So there. Nyah!

You're a very open and adventurous person, you've been around the block and back several times. Yet, as all people do, you realize that this life style cannot go on forever and need to settle down. Hopefully as more time progresses you'll stick to one gender and not be so greedy!
Take The "Which Kevin Smith Female Are You?" Quiz!!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *