New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

But.. I'm a cheerleader, 2002-07-04, 2:58 p.m.


Yay!!! 'But... I'm a cheerleader' is on tv. I love the movie network. Scratch one from the list. And I rented 'Holy Smoke'. So two down, more to add.

I love this movie. I love how it plays with stereotypes and the overall message of be who you are. I love the journey that Megans character takes. How the pretty pink and boyish blue molds crack eventually into the colours of the rainbow. How the 'True Directions' camp is all fake and how real the pride house is. By making every myth and phobia seem so silly, you realize how silly they are. The problem is that the people who would watch this movie are ones who don't need convincing that the phobias are silly.

Still... it's so great. It's wonderful. And to quote it:

    Megan Williams: Cheers are supposed to be simple, make people feel good.

    Graham Eaton: Cheers make girls do stupid cartwheels. Orgasms make people feel good.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *