New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Embittered Morning, 2001-10-30, 8:29 a.m.


At school again. As per usual (hey! it is my job). I've relaxed a little since last night and my cat being sick. It scares me when he's sick - he can't tell me if he's better, what would help and if I'm doing the right thing or not. He's so little. And he's my baby.

I watched Boston Public last night. I am a new teacher and want to save the world. BUT, I have a little bit of sense (honest! I do!). However, new teachers who want to save the world who have no sense should be barred from this show. What they do in that school looks so good, so interesting, so radical or life changing (like getting rival gang members to fight in the classroom so they won't fight outside the classroom). But that's not how it is. A show about how school actually is might be really boring. Some interesting moments. But teachers calling students 'dicks' (which, btw, I believe is the new autumn word that the censors have allowed into dialogue), teachers discussing masterbation and teachers visiting the homes of students to find that their mother has lost her hand in an odd chainsaw accident and let her son bring it in to cut up, well, all of that isn't real. It's funny to watch and has become funnier since I started teaching. But damn. If I was impressionable...

See... school has become no longer about what you learn. It is about what mark you get - no matter if you did the work or not. It is no longer about the teacher-student relationship, it is about the teacher-parent relationship. It is no longer about time to talk and discuss with the students, it is about schedules, competition and outcomes. It is crazy.

And it is the life I've choosen. More power to me? Or something like that...


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *