New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Convertibles are swell but the sure do call attention to your comings and goings...., 2002-10-01, 6:44 a.m.


'One Hour Photo' was amazing. Simply amazing. We went to it last night and I had to remind myself that it was Robin Williams. If you like psychological movies, this one is for you. The scariest part was what didn't happen in it. It was excellent.

See, we had a date last night. D. took me out for supper and then to a movie. It was really nice. Very relaxing. I ate and ate and ate, which I allowed myself to do. I had wood fired pizza, D. had tacos and we shared a large popcorn. I watch what I eat and the amount that I eat, but sometimes, you just need to enjoy food for the yumminess that it is.

I bought a book recently. It's a little pocket book entitled 'The Nancy Drew Guide to Life'. It has illustrations from old Nancy Drew books and lots of wisdom as presented by Nancy Drew. For example:

    Always lock your car doors. Even if there's nothing in the vehicle to take, a devilish person can always put something harmful into the car. ~ 'The Secret of the Forgotten City'

    Male fireflires turn their lights on and off in unison while the females flicker whenever they please. Perhaps there's a correlation to be made? ~ 'The Secret of Mirror Bay'

    If a bleeding, screaming man runs from shore and starts swimming frantically toward your boat, you should probably help him out. He might be excaping from cruel employers. ~ 'Mystery of Crocodile Island'.

    If tied up by a culprit, note whether they used any fancy nautical knots. It might be a valuable clue. ~ 'The Clue in the Old Stagecoach'.

The title one is from 'The Haunted Showboat'.

I loved Nancy Drew as a child. I liked Nancy and I liked the stories. I didn't like that they all had boyfriends and that the character George was a tomboy and that they made fun of Bess because she was chubby. I thought that a tomboy could be any name and that in the drawings and in the descriptions Bess sounded pretty and they shouldn't force her to be anything different. I hoped she'd kick their asses, but it didn't happen. I can't remember if Nancy Drew was as racist as the Bobbsey Twins. But I do remember that Nancy Drew was cool. She could do anything.

I think I want some old Nancy Drew books.... E-bay anyone?


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *