New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I'm tired of it, 2003-01-28, 6:56 a.m.


You know what I'm getting mad about? It's silly, but not silly.

I'm tired of inclusion without knowledge. I'm tired of 'well, I try to pick a boy and a girl to do these tasks' or 'I throw in a female mathematician'. I'm tired of half ass equality which really isn't equality at all. Chances are boys aren't asked to do 'girl' tasks, which makes the first on unequal at its base. And only the budding feminists will pick up on the inclusion of a female historical figure if it's not made a big deal of. You can't go from unequal and expect token gestures are going to cut it.

When I talk about gender issues in schools with other teachers, those are the responses I get. Kind of, 'I'm doing my part, I'm an equal opportunity teacher, leave me alone'. Well, if those band-aids worked, then we would have a much more equal society. And school. Damn, schools are not breeding grounds of equality. Not with subcultures and expectations and the hidden buracratic curriculum to breed little businessmen. Yes, I said businessmen.

We need education. We need courses. We need teachers trained in this. If not, they're teaching what they learned. We need gendersensitivity training, gender history training and gender heritage training. We need to offer something to our students besides 'Johnny and Susan, move the desks'. We need to for their sakes. Relatedly, we also need similar sexuality training. Which is another rant on a topic that is just as worthy. We breed hatred and inequality. We need to do something about it. Otherwise we're still going one step forward and two backwards.

Maybe this is why I'm so tired lately.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *