New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I have updated. Whoo!, August 14th and 15th, 2001, 6:44 p.m. and 11:30 a.m.


Wow... it has been a while.

I am offically done. Done. DONE!!!! My degree is completed. And I'll be on the deans list. As long as I have my numbers right I will be. You need at least 7 'A's out of the 12 credits that you do in class (internship doesn't count). And I'll have 8, as far as I know. This may change. But I'll have 8 and thats good for me. Now I can get ready for my job. Now the work begins.

I've been rereading '1984'. Wonderful book. I've been reading a lot lately and decided on that one because of listening to 'Off the Hook' a lot lately. The guy that hosts the show goes by the name of Emmanual Goldstein. He got this name from '1984'. Did anyone see 'Hackers'? There's a character in it.. well, heres the entry from the IMDB trivia.


The character name "Emmanuel Goldstein" is taken from George Orwell's novel "Nineteen Eighty-Four". It is also used as a pseudonym by Eric Corley, who publishes the magazine "2600, The Hacker Quarterly". Corley was a consultant for this film.

Emmanuel Goldstein is also the host for 'Off the Hook'. Theres the connection for those who were looking for it. Anyway... I'd forgotten how much I love '1984'. The writing is intense and amazing. If you have not read it, read it. And for those who may have to write an AP Lit exam (even if you're not doing the course), you can answer any question based on '1984'. Just so you know.

Listening to the radio on the way home. Desert Island disks was on. It reminds me of my theory - you can tell a lot about a person by the songs they'd pick to take on a desert island with them. The person today picked 'Smooth' (Rob Thomas and Santana), 'Mambo No. 5' (Lou Vega) and a Goo Goo Dolls Song. I don't think I'd get along with her very well. Mostly due to the 'Mambo No. 5'. I'm still trying to figure out what I would pick.

Hmm.. supper time. Will write more later.

~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*~^*

Well, its the next day. Whoops. Finally a day of overcast skies. I really don't like warm weather. Just because.

Yesterday I got a lot of nice messages about teaching from people I was talking to. And they're right. I've been thinking about it. I want to touch peoples lives. I want to know that I've made someone excited about something or feel better about something. My goal, in my 30 years of teaching is to get ONE e-mail or note saying 'Thank You. You made me feel better about myself by being there. You may not have known it, but I needed it.'. That is my goal. Let's see what happens.

I'm buying the third Harry Potter today. Yay!!!

Vacation is nice. Our cat appreciates it as well. We're home and he's got us wrapped around his little paw :). He's spoiled. But we know it, so its ok. As long as he doesn't scratch up the new couch!

Oh yeah! I drove a big truck to get this new couch. Gotta love it - me, driving down the parkway in the drivers seat of a 14 foot u-haul. Not a pretty picture. I got better but I was a little freaked for a while. Something about not being able to see out the back. That was crazy. And quite scary. But I did it. Yay me. Or something along those lines.

Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back in a week.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *