New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Interview, 2003-08-07, 6:56 a.m.


My Interview (with questions from Eucalia

1. What brought you to Diaryland and why have you stayed? Why did you choose the user name "Heavenly Ginger?" What other websites and/or collabs do your write for and why?

A student brought me to diaryland. She had a (now defunct) diary and introduced me to the idea. At the time, I was looking for something, a place to write I suppose, and for the first time in my life, got into the habit of keeping a diary. I had been reluctant to keep a diary online - putting out my life for people, especially people from my past to read - but she convinced me that with this many users on the diaryland system, people wouldn't find me right away. At the time, I did a lot of editing - I still do - but didn't even mention major events that occured. In fact, when I look back, I can see why people didn't realize that things were happening in my life.

Heavenlyginger sprung from two sources - 'Heavenly Creatures', one of my favourite movies, and Ginger Spice, my favourite Spice Girl. They just sounded right together. I used the term before my diary. So when I signed up, I used that combo. I had another diary for a while - my food intake journal when I was counting weight watchers points - and it was trixiefirecracker, another ginger spice reference. Horribly uncool I know, but spicey.

I am a staff member for the group We Have Brains, a feminist writing collab. I've not written for it lately, which bothers me, but the plan is to write and write and write for it when my course work is done. I can't wait because the questions and the topics posed make me think and make me figure out things that have until then just been floating in my head. I'm also a part of The Spark.

2. Why did you decide to become a teacher? Do you have any particular role models who inspire you? What do you teach?

I didn't want to be a teacher at first. What I wanted to do was get my doctorate in Womyns Studies and teach at a private girls school. Yes, I know that was teaching, but not in the traditional sense of the word. I got a job where I was teaching computers in schools - going from one school to another and teaching how to e-mail, make websites, develop online projects, etc - and loved it. I then decided that I wanted to teach. My role models for teaching are my parents. They are both teachers and are good at what they do. I teach language arts and am the learning resource teacher. I love teaching theatre, when I can, and am excited that this year I get to teach an art class.

3. What are your favorite books and why? Have you always loved reading or is it something you grew into?

Wow. I don't know if I can state a favourite book. 'Mists of Avalon' by Marion Zimmer Bradley is one, as is 'The Robber Bride' by Margaret Attwood. 'Flux' by Peggy Orienstein and 'No Logo' by Naomi Klein are both also books that I love. I enjoy Jennifer Weiner, Maeve Binchy, J.K. Rowling, Margarets Attwood and Laurence - so many authors. I've always loved to read and don't think that there are many instances that I've had a book out of my hand.

4. When you have time to just think, what do you like to think about?

I'm not sure, as I rarely have time to just think. I go on weird tangical thoughts, where I'll think and then at the end of the tangent mention something. Those around me get confused because it has nothing to do with anything we might have discussed at some point. From that, I then have to explain my tangents. I get silly a lot, but I also think of serious issues.

5. What are your favorite blogs to read and why? Which non-blog websites take up the most of your time?

I really enjoy my favourites list. I also like April and she often references blogs that I go to and love. Jennifer Weiner, an author I like has a blog. When not blogging, I read Television Without Pity a great deal. It's my biggest time sucker.

BONUS QUESTION: Based on the origins and meaning of the word, do you find "hysterical" to be offensive (or is it just me)?

It's not just you. Believe me. Yes.

_________________________________________

1) Leave a comment by ten o� clock tonight if you want to be interviewed.

2) I will respond; I�ll ask you five questions.

3) You�ll update your journal with my five questions, and your five answers.

4) You�ll include this explanation.

5) You�ll ask other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.


(5 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *