New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Spice World should be required viewing for Pop Bands. Just to stop the Whining., 2001-08-17, 9:58 p.m.


I think I've mentioned this before, but I hate that I can memorize lyrics so easily. Ok, sometimes its great - I can pop in so many modern musicals and sing along to all the parts (drove my parents nuts - me down in the basement wailing away to 'Miss Saigon' one moment, 'Phantom' (high and low parts) the next and 'Into the Woods' after that). But it also means that I'm here, friday night, waiting for a phone call, singing and conducting along with 'All or Nothing at All' by O-Town as 'Making the Band' ends. Gotta love it. My poor cat.

O-Town was complaining about how they never get time off. Didn't they see spice world? Didn't they know that's what would happen? Didn't they realize that they wouldn't get time off and they'd have to pee in the woods? I think they should have done their research.

Its a friday night and I'm home. As per usual, but its me and the cat. And the cat's not talking. I think, if I had one wish, besides wishing to suddenly be a size three, I'd wish that my cat could talk. So that he could share feelings and random thoughts. Plus, I'd like to know what he thinks of his food. An occasional 'Mommy, could I have salmon and chicken rather than turkey and cheese' would be nice. Or 'Mommy, my head hurts, please leave me alone for a while as I sleep it off'. Is that to much to ask?

I thought so.

Much healthier supper. Leftover pasta salad from Mrs Vanilli's (I had gotten half ceasar salad/half greek pasta salad yesterday) and crackers with jam. And diet coke. Mmmm....

I'm making a Harry Potter web page for a book club that I have. I need to make it magical. So far thats not working. Hmm... I have to figure out how I want it to look without copying any other sites I've seen out there. Which is frustrating. As there are some great sites out there. But its nice to have a challenge.

and I think I'll work on it now. Here are lyrics to 'Ash Wednesday' by the Neilds. Not sure why. Just want to share.

"Ash Wednesday"

Daddy's on the back porch playing with a blowtorch
Standing by the front door, Avon ladies for the poor
Meanwhile Mama smiles, "Get your lover down the aisle
Before he's gone"

Lisa says, "Don't cry, I'll bring you flowers when you die
I'll go to school in only black or maybe in a gunny sack
I'll get your friends to stand around and dance upon buried ground
On our front lawn

But don't you worry, I'm sure she's sorry
And doesn't mean that stuff about the aisle"

Chorus
Ring around the rosy, a pocket full of posy
Ashes ashes, we all fall down

The test came back on Tuesday last just before our pseudo-fast
Lisa says, "It's heaven-sent, you can't give ice cream up for Lent"
Mama said I wouldn't last forty days
But maybe two

So I spent the day avoiding Mother, reading Dr. Joyce Brothers
Reading Where The Wild Things Are and some of Plath's Bell Jar
Reading Daddy's tax forms to see if it would be born
On Christmas Day

And I am not weeping, I think I'm keeping
A baby who will soon be half my age

Chorus

Quitting smoking is a must, ashes ashes dust to dust
Try to turn a new leaf, giving up pork and beef
Lisa says she'll buy me bras and maybe I should join a spa
Or take Lamaze

It's funny how you never know exactly when you're asked to grow
Exactly when you take the load or head up on your own road
Exactly which the day will be, maybe Ash Wednesday
Or Mardi Gras

So I will change 'cause I have changed
It's time to put these combat boots away

Chorus


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *