New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Three Days Left, 2001-08-06, 5:44 p.m.


I figured I'd write something besides the 100 things about me. Just because thats not much of a diary entry. Either that or it is the ultimate diary entry. I'm not sure.

How many days do I have left? Why, thanks for asking. I have three days left. Three. Th-ree. That's it. Ha! The year is almost over. And I am thrilled about that!

It's been a good year. My classes made me think or they made me angry. There was no middle ground - but there was never no feeling or emotion. My internship was wonderful. Wonderful. I think the highlight was the drama club but the classes were good too. For the most part. I'm really going to be thinking of all my students next year when I meet new ones. Just because.

With the drama club we did a play that had a lot of monologues (Hi Lacy :). However, the full version of the play has a monologue that I love. And here it is:

From Celeste Raspanti's I never saw another butterfly, about children in the consentration camp Terezin during the Holocaust. The speaker is Raja, based on one of the 100 children who survived out of the 15,000 that passed through there.

Raja (Smiling if rememberence from the scene of a remembered opera Ludvik that the children used to perform): Ludvik - with the rehersals, the performances - was our hope. We could not let it die. The transports carried away children to die - new children took the empty places but Ludvik stayed and the children found strenght and courage in playing their parts in it (She listens to the last strains of music in the distance. She looks out over the audience quickly as if she recognizes someone in the group.) I know a game. I'll be that lady with the little girl over there will turn around. Or maybe that gentleman... I hum a motif from Ludvik and no matter where they are, they hear it. That would not work with anyone else... (She hums a motif and waits. Then as from a great distance, she hears the melody repeated.) You can try it anywhere in the world. Just hum a motif from our opera, and you will find them. They are sure to come - the few who remember Terezin.

For some reason, this monologue has been in my head lately. Hum a motif and they will remember. It makes me sad. But also, it teaches me about the human spirit. And what can interweave us all. That opera may have just been music when composed. But when performed, it was a lifeline. And, it is a connecter that weaves the people together. Beautiful.

BTW, there is a book of artwork and poems that the children of Terezin did that the play is based on. Very sad. But wonderful.

Three days of classes. Three. Three. Yeehaw!

.."So let the sun shine in... face it with a grin.. smilers never lose and frowners never win.. so let the sun shine in, face it with a grin.. open up your heart and let the sun shine in"..


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *